May 21, 2018  
2012-2013 Official General Catalog 
    
2012-2013 Official General Catalog [Archived Catalog]

Expenses


Click on any of the following links for information:


1The BCC Board of Trustees establishes tuition and fee amounts for each semester. The amounts below were established for the 2011-12 year only. Semesters beyond that point are subject to increase.

2The College establishes tuition and fee refund policies and procedures each year in accordance with federal and state mandated regulations. The policies and procedures in this section were established for the year 2011-12. Years beyond that point are subject to changing Federal and State guidelines, thus future College refund policies and procedures are subject to change. The regulations for any particular year are available at Registrar, Financial Aid, and Student Accounts Offices.

Tuition

^top

Tuition and fees are payable at the Student Accounts Office according to a payment schedule released by the College each semester. The responsibility for payment rests upon the student. Both full-time and part-time students who have registered for courses will be "de-registered" if they fail to meet established due dates for tuition/ fee payment.

Students who are administratively dropped for non-attendance during the semester continue to have a tuition and fee obligation.

Students Carrying 12 or more Credits or Credit-Equivalent Hours

(considered full-time students)

For New York State residents

  • with residency certificate:
    $1,847 per semester1
  • without residency certificate:
    $3,694 per semester1

For out-of-state residents

  • $3,694 per semester1

Tuition Deposit Policy

Students admitted to the College prior to August 1 may be requested to submit a $50 tuition deposit. This payment will be applied toward the Fall semester tuition bill for those students who register. Students who do not register for the Fall semester can obtain a refund of the tuition deposit, through the end of the first week of classes, by submitting a request in writing to the College Controller. At the end of the first week of classes, the tuition deposit is non-refundable

Students Carrying Fewer than 12 Credits or Credit-Equivalent Hours

(considered part-time students)

For New York State residents

  • with residency certificate $154 per credit1
  • without residency certificate $308 per credit1

For out-of-state residents

  • $308 per credit hour1

Residency Certificate

^top

To qualify for the resident tuition fee, a student is required by law (NYS Education Law, Section 6305) to present once each academic year, a residency certificate indicating that he or she has been a legal resident of the State of New York for one year, and of a county for six months.

New York State Counties will issue certificates up to 60 calendar days prior to the start of the semester and until 30 calendar days into the semester.  Counties are permitted by law to refuse applications after the 30th day of the semester.  Many counties adhere to this deadline with NO EXCEPTIONS.

Please visit the Residency Information web page for details.

College Fees¹ (mandatory)

^top

College fees are non-refundable.

Matriculation fee (one-time fee)   $801
Service fee (Non-Matriculated) (per semester)   $101
Distance Learning Fee   $ 5 per credit hour1
Laboratory fees   $40 per lab1
  Music   can up to $500 per lab1
Technology fee (per semester)    
  full-time, fall/spring   $601
  part-time, fall/spring   $501
  full time/part-time, summer   $501
Vehicle Registration fee   $501
  Replacement vehicle registration sticker   $25
  Summer only   $101
Late Registration fee   $201
  (begins on first day of semester)    
Student refund debit card replacement fee   $20 per card
Credit by Examination    
      Non-Laboratory Course   $501
      plus $15 per credit hour
      Laboratory Course   $501
      plus $15 per credit hour
      plus $10 for each clock hour of lab
      examination (maximum $165)1
Credit by Evaluation    
(Portfolio Assessment)   $751
      plus $15 per credit hour1
Health Science Clinical Makeup fee   $601
Rush Transcript fee   $ 51
Fax fee   $ 51
  (up to 5 pages - $1 per page thereafter)    
Duplicate Record fee   $1 per copy
Mailing fee   $5 per folder
Returned Check fee   $251

Courses requiring outside services, such as PED 170 Trail Riding, Music Lessons, etc., may require students to pay additional out of pocket expenses directly to those service providers.

Student Fees (mandatory)

^top

Student Fees are non-refundable.

Student Activity Fee

Full-Time Student   $90 per semester1
Part-Time Student   $ 8 per credit hour1
I.D. Card Replacement fee   $10 per card1

The activity fee entitles all students to admission to varsity games, convocations, student activities, as well as the opportunity to participate in a varied program of co-curricular activities, including intramural athletics.

The Student Activity Fee funds the following types of programs on campus: the Student Handbook and Planner, Orientation, 40 clubs and organizations, 12 athletic teams, intramural sports, travel, Common Hour programs, family events, films, picnics and more.

Accident Insurance, Student Health Service Fee

Full-Time Student (mandatory)    
Accident Insurance   $9 per year1
  First time full-time in spring   $61
Health Service Fee (mandatory)    
Full-Time Students   $14 per semester1
Part-Time Students   $8 per semester1

Money collected from the Health Service fee is used for physician services, drugs, supplies, educational material, diagnostic equipment, special health programs and related Health Service expenses. The fee is non-refundable if the student withdraws from the College.

The accident policy covers the student for 12 months commencing the first day of classes for expenses incurred as a result of an accident, on or off campus. Maximum coverage is $2,500 per accident. Claim forms are available in the Student Health Services. Claims must be filed with Student Health Services before expenses will be paid. Part-time students may also enroll in the accident insurance program. The fees and coverage are the same. Contact Student Health Services for more information. Students who withdraw and wish a refund of their accident policy must apply directly to the insurance company.

International Student Health Insurance

International students are required to demonstrate proof of health insurance coverage prior to enrollment at the College. International health insurance is available through the College on a semester to semester basis. Rates upon request.

Claim forms are available at the SHS office during the year. Students who wish to withdraw must request a refund of their health insurance fee by applying directly to the insurance company..

Medical Insurance

The College does not provide medical insurance. Information about such insurance is available through Student Health Services and directly from insurance companies.

Books, Supplies, Uniforms and Other Expenses

^top

Students are expected to purchase textbooks and related instructional materials for the courses in which they are enrolled. These may be purchased at the Bookstore located in the Campus Services Building. The average cost of textbooks and required supplies varies depending on curriculum and ranges between $200 and $700 per semester.

In the Health Science curriculums students will provide, at their own expense, their own transportation to off-campus locations for necessary clinical and other experience. Students are also required to have a physical examination which may cost as much as $100.

In addition, some curriculums require uniforms. Among these are Hotel/Restaurant, Nursing, Radiologic Technology, Clinical Laboratory Technician, Medical Assistant and Physical Therapist Assistant. Gym clothes are necessary for physical education classes. Dental instruments and pants-type uniforms are prescribed for Dental Hygiene students.

A Windows-Multi-Media Pentium home computer is strongly recommended for Engineering Science and Computer Studies students.

The following estimated expenses are in addition to the usual cost of text books:

    Freshman   Senior
Business Technologies   $ 50   $ 100
Civil Technology   60   90
Clinical Laboratory Technician   50   200
Dental Hygiene   2,500   575
EMT Paramedic   100   100
Engineering Science   325   750
Health Information Technology   105   110
Industrial Technology   90   90
Mechanical Engineering Technology   90   90
Medical Assistant   60   250
Nursing   75   500
Physical Therapist Assistant   300    
Radiologic Technology   650   375

Refund Policies, Procedures

^top

Tuition Refund Policy2
Effective FALL 1998, New York State has mandated the current refund policy for all SUNY community colleges.

Fall and Spring Semesters

Students who officially withdraw from classes during the first three weeks of a semester will be entitled to tuition refunds on the following basis - 100% refund before the first day of the semester; 75% on or before day 5 of the semester; 50% on or before day 10 of the semester; and, 25% on or before day 15 of the semester. After day 15 of the semester, there is no refund.

"Day of semester" does not refer to specific class meetings. It refers to actual day of the campus wide semester.

TITLE IV FINANCIAL AID RECIPIENTS PLEASE SEE TITLE IV FINANCIAL AID REFUND POLICY ON THIS PAGE.

Note: Refunds for courses less than 15 weeks in length are prorated based on the length of the course.

College On The Weekend

Refunded at 100% up to 5 p.m. on first Friday of Weekender classes; 75% refund through the Friday following the first weekend of classes (0% refund thereafter).

Summer Session

Students who withdraw from Summer Session classes will be entitled to a 100% refund through the last business day, before the first day of the semester. Refunds are reduced to 25% for students withdrawing on or before day 5 of the semester. After that, there will be no refunds.

Refund Procedure2

An application for refund of tuition and fees must be made in writing in the Registrar's Office (SS 105). The application must be on the College form provided. The date on which the application is filed is considered the official date of the student's withdrawal and any refund to which the student may be entitled is computed using that date.

Title IV Financial Aid Refund Policy2

Students who receive Title IV financial assistance (Pell, SEOG or Stafford Loans) are subject to the most recent guidelines mandated by the Higher Education Act Amendment. If -and only if- they officially withdraw or are administratively withdrawn from the institution, the unearned funds received for tuition, fees, and other educational expenses, must be returned to the Federal Title IV programs. This return may result in an outstanding balance due to Broome Community College and/or to the U.S. Department of Education. All other cases (e.g. partial withdrawals) will follow the N.Y.S. mandated refund policy for community colleges.

Other Procedures

^top

Students who defer tuition on Financial Aid, and who then become ineligible to receive that aid or any portion of it, will be subject to an immediate obligation for payment and/or collection of tuition, fees and disbursements. The College reserves the right to use whatever collection procedures it deems appropriate to satisfy any outstanding debt. The total outstanding debt may include additional costs incurred due to collection activities. The cost will vary depending on the debt. Additional costs may be as much as 331/3 percent of the debt plus attorney/court fees.

Withholding Diplomas and Transcripts

A student's Official College Transcript and diploma will be withheld if there are outstanding financial or property-returning obligations. These could be to such College offices as Security, Learning Resource Center (Library), Student Accounts, Physical Education, as well as others. Students must settle any such outstanding debts to the College and then present evidence of the settlement to the Office of the Registrar.

 

  ^top